Submit :
News                      Photos                     Just In                     Debate Topic                     Latest News                    Articles                    Local News                    Blog Posts                     Pictures                    Reviews                    Recipes                    
29 sports personalities to be honoured with Khel Ratna, Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand Awards today
Based on the recommendations of the Selection Committee, 29 sportspersons are all set to receive national sports awards from President of India, Ram Nath Kovind at a specially organised ceremony which will be held at the Rashtrapati Bhavan today, on the occasion National Sports Days.

The selected sports personalities will be honoured with Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards, Arjuna awards, Dronacharya awards and Dhyan Chand awards during the ceremony.

Cricketers Cheteshwar Pujara, Harmanpreet Kaur; Para-athletes Mariyappan and Varun Singh Bati; Wrestler Satyawart Kadian are among the 17 sportspersons who are set to be honoured with the Arjuna awards.

While former hockey captain Sardar Singh and Para Athelete Devendra Jhajharia will be conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards.

Many nominations were received for these prestigious awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committees members – comprising of former Olympians, Arjuna awardees, Dronacharya awardees, Dhyan Chand Awardees, sports journalists/ experts/ commentators and administrators.

Apart from a medal and a citation, Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awardees will receive a cash prize of Rs 7.5 lakh each. While, Arjuna, Dronacharya and Dhyan Chand awardees will be honoured with statuettes, certificates and cash prize of Rs 5 lakh each.

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award is considered as the highest sporting honour which is given for the most spectacular and outstanding performance in the field of sports by a player over a period of four years at International level.

Arjuna award is given for consistent and outstanding performance of four years in national sports;

Dronacharya award is a sports coaching honour, given for producing medal winners at prestigious international sports events and Dhyan Chand award is the lifetime achievement sporting honour.

1) Here’s the complete list of players to be conferred with the Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna awards 2017:

  • Shri Devendra (Para Athlete)

  • Shri Sardar Singh (Hockey)

2) Here’s the complete list of players to be conferred with the Arjuna awards 2017:

  • VJ Surekha (Archery)

  • Khushbir Kaur (Athletics)

  • Arokia Rajiv (Athletics)

  • Prasanthi Singh (Basketball)

  • Laishram Debendro Singh (Boxing)

  • Cheteshwar Pujara (Cricket)

  • Harmanpreet Kaur (Cricket)

  • Oinam Bembem Devi (Football)

  • SSP Chawrasia (Golf)

  • SV Sunil (Hockey)

  • Jasvir Singh (Kabaddi)

  • PN Prakash (Shooting)

  • A Amalraj (Table Tennis)

  • Saketh Myneni (Tennis)

  • Satyawart Kadian (Wrestling)

  • Mariyappan (Para-Athlete)

  • Varun Singh Bhati (Para-Athlete)

3) Here’s the complete list of coaches who will be conferred with the Dronacharya awards 2017:

  • Late Dr R Gandhi (Athletics)

  • Heera Nand Kataria (Kabaddi)

  • GSSV Prasad (Badminton – Lifetime)

  • Brij Bhushan Mohanty (Boxing – Lifetime)

  • Mr PA Raphel (Hockey – Lifetime)

  • Sanjoy Chakraverthy (Shooting – Lifetime)

  • Mr Roshan Lal (Wrestling – Lifetime)

4) Here’s the complete list of sportspersons to be conferred with the Dhyanchand awards 2017:

  • Bhupender Singh (Athletics)

  • Syed Shahid Hakim (Football)

  • Sumarai Tete (Hockey)

Email Id
Verification Code
Email me on reply to my comment
Email me when other CJs comment on this article
Sign in to set your preference
merinews for RTI activists

Not finding what you are looking for? Search here.